Sunday, August 14, 2011

PBA 2011 Leo Awards Complete List

PBA (Philippine Basketball Association) conducted its annual awarding for the top performers in the league. The end of season awards, which have been called the Leo Awards since 2003, are presented prior to Game 4 of the best-of-seven Finals between Talk ‘N Text and Petron Blaze  Sunday, August 14 at the Smart Araneta Coliseum.

Major awards like MVP, Rookie of the Year, and Mythical Team selections are determined by the following criteria: statistics (30 percent), media votes (30 percent), player votes (25 percent), votes from the television broadcast partner (10 percent) and votes from the PBA Commissioner’s Office (5%).

While The Most Improved Player, All-Defensive Team and Sportsmanship awards don’t have a statistical component in the criteria, and will be decided upon purely by votes – 35 percent from the media, 35 percent from players, 15 percent from the television broadcast partner, and 15 percent from the Commissioner’s Office.

Here are the the complete list of 2011 PBA Annual Awardees

Sportmanship Awardee - Sonny Thoss (Alaska Aces)
Most Improve Player: Jason Castro (Talk N' Text Tropang Texters)
Rookie of the Year: Rabeh Al-Hussaini (Petron Blaze Boosters)
All Defensive Team: Arwind Santos, Marc Pingris, Willy Wilson, Ryan Reyes and John Wilson.
2nd Mythical Team: Jason Castro, James Yap, Joe Devance, Jay Washington and Ali Peek.
1st Mythical Team: Jimmy Alapag, Mark Caguioa, Arwind Santos, Kelly Williams and Sonny Thoss.
Most Valuable Player: Jimmy Alapag (Talk N' Text Tropang Texters)

Congratulations to James Yap, Joe Devance and Mark Pingris  for grabing the awards. Also, Congratulation to PJ Simon for being nominated for mythical team selection. 


No comments:

Post a Comment